Skip to content

.mp3

January 8, 2012

There is a thing about a song, it always has a flaw no matter how good it is. For instance, there is R.E.M.’s Everybody Hurt  which I think is only good if I listen to it in a movie scene. And if I just listen to the song alone, it wouldn’t be as touching and honestly the song itself is kinda boring. But that song is just one of many, such as the Blanks (a Capella band from Scrubs) and many others. There are also songs which is only good when I listen to it live, like songs by Mew, U2 or local band like the Trees and the Wild. Sure some of their songs are also good if we listen to the album version, but yet the live version would be twice better. Plus, most of the songs aren’t east to digest rather than hearing it live.

There are also songs that’s only good on the album but the live version is rather awful, like songs from Third Eye Blind. I live Third Eye Blind, but I hate seeing them live since it was so boring and all over the place. I don’t know why but Stephan Jenkins’ voice is only good on recordings. The point being is that it isn’t like what I’m expecting. It just isn’t that breath-taking performance.

However, there’s also songs which is good in the album, and way better in live performances such as Switchfoot’s, Celine Dion’s, Faith Hill’s and Sarah McLachlan’s. As for the last one, I didn’t think that it would be that good until I see her live on Youtube. It was way beyond my expectation. I’ve seen Swicthfoot live, and by golly, Jon Foreman was that great! The whole performance was just a-mah-zing that I’d love to watch them live again. I even willing to chase him to his hotel at 3 a.m. just to took a picture with him, just like a fanboy, which wasn’t really a common thing for me.

And sure, there are songs that’re just awful both on the album and on stage. I probably shouldn’t mention them one by one, but Bjork is one of those. Bjork is actually not that bad, but her music was just too hard to digest both on the record or on stage. My brain wrinkles listening to her songs, yet some people are actually loving it. And I’m just one of many who apparently also have the same opinion about her songs. But still, Bjork is bad in a good way. I mean, I have to give credit to her creativity towards her music despite all those I mentioned earlier. There’re still lost of songs/bands that are way worse than hers. I tell you this because their music is just killing my ear and my obsession towards music the soonest I listen to it in, in any possible ways.

From → Crapictures, Craps

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment